by Evelyn Bailey

Shoulders To Stand On is proud to recognize the women who were Vicki Cup Honorees and Past Presidents (or Co-Presidents) of the Gay Alliance. Vicki Cup Awards were begun by Arnie Pegish in 1979 in honor of Vicki Russo. The award is given to a woman who has made a significant contribution to the Rochester gay community. These are only a few of the shoulders of the women in our community that we stand on.

The purpose of Women's History Month is to increase consciousness and knowledge of women's history: to take one month of the year to remember the contributions of notable and ordinary women, in hopes that the day will soon come when it's impossible to teach or learn history without remembering these contributions.

Help us identify Vickie Cup honorees for years not given and to identify unknown and unrecognized women leaders in Rochester GLBT organizations and agencies.

We are also looking for names of past board members, and any organizational records of GLBT organizations, agencies, and groups from 1968 – 1980.  Contact our Archival Consultant, Nicole Menarchem at 244-8640×32 or by email:

Vickie Cup Honorees
1979  Mary Lou Wells
1980  Sue Cowell
1981  Elaine Smith
1982  Rosemary Cahill
1983  Pauline Geraullo
1984  Ginny Shear, Sue Slate
1985  Nilda Hernandez
1986  Jackie Nudd
1987  Barb Dedes
1988  Robin Freer
1989  Chic Parker
1991  Evelyn Bailey
1992  Susan Jordan
1994  Paula Silverstrone
1996  Adrienne Kllc
1997  Susan Soleil
1998  Emily Jones
2000  Nancy Casey
2009  Judy Cranston

Past Gay Alliance Women Presidents
1976  Mary Lou Welz (Co-President)
1977  Pat Collins
1978  Marge David (Co-President)
1979  Sue Cowell (Co-President)
1980  Mary Lou Welz (Co-President)
1981  Elaine Smith (Co-President)
1982  Mary Lou Komarek
1988  Autumn Craft (Co-President)
1989-90  Chic Parker
1990  Betty Dwyer
1999-2000  Kim Brumber
2001  Shirley Bowen
2003  Ann Young
2005  Emily Jones/Kathryn Rivers
2006  Kathryn Rivers
2007  Sue Cowell (Co-President)

March Is Women’s History Month

One thought on “March Is Women’s History Month

  • November 15, 2010 at 6:26 pm

    You misspelled our 1987 recipient: Barb Debes, an amazingly warm and gifted person and therapist.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *